v Kansas Shrine Bowl kicks off Saturday in El Dorado - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Kansas Shrine Bowl kicks off Saturday in El Dorado

By: Matt Gilmore, Kpreps Editor
Jul 28, 2017

Share This Story:

Football is here!

The 44th annual Kansas Shrine Bowl between the East and the West will kick off at 7:05 p.m. Saturday on the campus of Butler County Community College in El Dorado, Kansas.

The game, which features some of the top recently-graduated high school football players in the state, is held to generate money for Shriners Hospitals for Children. All proceeds from the game go to benefit the network of 22 hospitals. Butler County Community College is hosting the Shrine Bowl for the first time.

In last year’s game at Emporia State’s Welch Stadium in Emporia, the East defeated the West 48-27 for a second consecutive win in the series. Mike McCoy (Topeka High / Kansas State) led the East with 89 yards rushing and four, short rushing touchdowns. Tucker Horak (Rossville / Pittsburg State) added 75 yards rushing and a score for the East.

The East All-Stars held on to a slim 26-20 lead after three quarters, but exploded two touchdowns in the first 20 seconds of the fourth quarter to open a 20-point lead. McCoy scored on a 1-yard run to open the fourth quarter, and 15 seconds later, Brooks Peavler (Topeka Hayden / Washburn) returned a fumble 25 yards for the East’s second defensive touchdown of the game.

The East has won three of the past four Shrine Bowls; however, the West retains a 26-16-1 lead in the all-time series.

2017 Shrine Bowl Rosters

Drew Bones – Ottawa – Illinois State
Hunter Browning – Washburn Rural -- Washburn
Nick Bulleigh – St. Thomas Aquinas – Colorado Mines
Dalton Cowan – Topeka Seaman – Emporia State
Bryce Crouch – Emporia – Emporia State
Joel Donn – Mill Valey
Clayton Fowler – Hartford
Dawson Hammes – Rossville – Emporia State
Jake Hastings – Santa Fe Trail
Trenton Henry – Nemaha Central
Wyatt Hubert – Shawnee Heights – Kansas State
Cuttar Huss – Troy
Mason Koechner – Louisburg – Garden City CC
J.J. Letcher – KC Piper -- Washburn
Jordin Linn – Neodesha – Pittsburg State
A.J. Lusker – Frontenac -- Pittsburg State
Jordan Martin – KC Turner
Greg Martin – Marysville – Highland CC
Brandon Mlekus – Frontenac – Pittsburg State
Danny Pressler – Shawnee Mission North – William Jewell
Trystan Pringle – Lyndon
Eric Renyer – Sabetha – Benedictine College
Cornelius Ruff – KC Schlagle – Kansas State
Brett Sabath – Blue Valley Southwest -- Fort Hays State
P.J. Sarwinski – Galena – Pittsburg State
Adam Smith – Atchison -- Pittsburg State
Bryce Steffens – St. James Academy – Missouri Western State
Tomas Stringer – Topeka Hayden -- Pittsburg State
Chandler Struthers – St. Paul
Corey Thomas – Topeka High – Emporia State
Jacob Unruh – Lawrence – Fort Hays State
Peyton Usher-Pearson – Independence
Landry Weber – Bishop Miege – Kansas State
Mitchell Wertzberger – Wabaunsee
Kamaren Wilson – Coffeyville-Field Kindley – Coffeyville CC

Derick Hammes – Rossville (Head)
Bob Lisher – Lawrence Free State
Tom Radke – St. James Academy
Rob Hedrick – Ottawa
Warren Seitz – Nemaha Central
Brent Hoelting – Lyndon

Ben Adler – Wichita Trinity Academy – Kansas State
Jovon Baldwin – Junction City – Butler CC
Shane Berens – Hays – SE Louisiana (track & field)
Kaden Davis – Ellsworth – Butler CC
Cooper Dreifort – Andover -- Butler CC
Zach Esau – Hesston – Bethel College
Dylan Foos – Dighton – Ottawa University
Hayden Friend – Plainville -- Fort Hays State
Kody Gonzalez – Goddard -- Butler CC
Cullen Grabast – Osborne – McPherson College
Jacob Green – Norton
Layke Heimerman – Halstead -- Fort Hays State
Zach Helbing – Mulvane -- Butler CC
Peyton Hill – Garden City -- Fort Hays State
Jacob Jenkins – Chaparral – Kansas State
Dallin Marlnee – Augusta -- Butler CC
Jacob Murray – Great Bend -- Fort Hays State
Ben Murray – Southeast of Saline
Sam Nance – Bishop Carroll
Tanner Orand – Goddard-Eisenhower
Jordan Paul – Kapaun Mt. Carmel
Nate Pauly – Garden Plain – Baker University
Jack Reifschneider – McPherson -- Fort Hays State
Ethan Richardson – Maize South – Coffeyville CC
Josh Rivas – Hutchinson – Kansas State
Jared Ruth – McPherson – Fort Hays State
Marshall Rutschman – Sedgwick
Thomas Sanchez – Dodge City – Dodge City CC
Jay Shank – Valley Center
Justin Sullivan – Salina South – Kansas Wesleyan
Landen Urban – Hoisington -- Washburn
Peerlus Walker – Derby -- Butler CC
Ethan White – Buhler – Hutchinson CC (baseball)
Dillon Williams -- Holcomb

Marc Marinelli – Goddard-Eisenhower (Head)
Brian Hill – Garden City
Scott Vang – Goddard
Brent Pfeifer – Maize South
Clint Rider – Hesston / Blue Valley Northwest
Grant Stephenson -- Plainville


Jay Dineen – Lawrence Free State -- Kansas
Colin Grunhard – Bishop Miege – Notre Dame
Michael Maffry – Blue Valley
Jason Meeker – Shawnee Mission West – Baker University
Trey Moore – Lawrence – Emporia State
Justin Peine – Prairie View – Northern Iowa
Travis Pickert – St. James Academy – Southern Illinois
Eric Scott – Basehor-Linwood – Illinois State
Trevor Thompson – Shawnee Mission West -- Colgate
Garrett Tierney – Blue Valley Northwest -- Washburn
Keegan Zars – Mill Valley – Missouri Western State

Tyrekus Birch – Wichita South
Joey Gilbertson – Wichita Northwest -- Kansas
Hunter Kaufman – Pratt -- Kansas
Eldon Picou – Manhattan – Army (wrestling)
Cooper Root – Wichita Collegiate -- Kansas



Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Notice: Undefined variable: related_ids in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/includes/module_related-articles.php on line 9

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141