v 2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team

Jacey Murphy (Girard) & Taylor Compton (Riverton) lead the 2017 team. (photo: Joyce Kovacic)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 19, 2017

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2017 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here. Selections are handled entirely by Sports in Kansas. 

First Team All-Area

Taylor Compton, Riverton Sr.

Shaylun Grostephan, Girard Jr.

Molly McCully, Frontenac Sr.

Shelby Smith, Girard Sr.

Bridget Dunlay, Parsons Sr.

Sam Greninger, Riverton Sr.

Hannah Burnett, Independence Jr.

Gwen Smalley, Frontenac Sr.

Camryn Compton, Riverton Fr.

Aubree Lawrie, Independence Jr.

Julia Falletti, Frontenac Sr.

Paige March, Labette County Jr.

Kaylee Harper, Frontenac Sr.

Morgan Mavers, Independence Soph.

Bailey Naden, Coffeyville Jr.

Karlee Stanley, Fort Scott Sr.

Lexi Pilar, Riverton Fr.

Jacey Murphy, Girard Jr.

Sierra Wilson, Labette County Sr.

Lyssa Schabel, Independence Jr.

Calea Augustin, Girard Sr.

Shelby Blythe, Frontenac Sr.

Jamee Compton, Riverton Sr.

Sydnee Crain, Girard Jr.

Sydnee Donaldson, Riverton Sr.

Kamryn Osborn, Frontenac Sr.

Madison Vogel, Pittsburg Sr.

Taylor Krokroskia, Fort Scott Sr.

Madison Thompson, Chanute Sr.

Autumn Walker, Northeast Arma Sr.

Abby Walker, Chanute Sr.

Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year

Taylor Compton, Riverton Sr.

Compton is the all-time strikeouts leader in the history of Kansas high school softball and all-time wins leader. She led the Rams to an undefeated record and finished as one of the top pitchers of all-time in Kansas history. Compton, a Pittsburg State signee, finished with 80 wins and 886 strikeouts in her four-year career as a Lady Ram. She is a repeat selection as the Pitcher of the Year. Compton doesn’t only get the nod as a pitcher of the year, she also got it done with her bat as she hit for a .430 AVG in her career and had over 100 hits in four years. She is perhaps the most dominant player we have ever seen in the circle over a four year period of high school softball in our area. 

Infielder of the Year

Jacey Murphy, Girard Jr.

Murphy, a junior shortstop, hit .615 for the Lady Trojans in 2017 including hitting over .700 in her last 15 games of the season. Her .615 average was near the tops in Kansas at any level. She was a defensive staple as a middle infielder for the 4A-II champ this season. She is a repeat selection on the All-Area team, making it as a sophomore last spring. Murphy was also a member of the state champion basketball team this March.

Outfielder of the Year

Sydnee Crain, Girard Jr.

Crain, a junior center fielder, is one of the best multiple sport athletes in 4A, making all-state in three different sports as a junior in 2016-2017 and that didn’t stop on this year’s softball team. She hit .506 for the Trojans at the plate this season, leading them in runs scored with 42. Crain, a five-tool player, patrolled center as one of the top defensive players in the state for the Trojans in 2017 and was a first team All 4A-II selection this season. She was also a first team 4A-II selection in basketball over the last two seasons and helped the Trojans to the 4A-II title in basketball this March.

Hitter of the Year

Kaylee Harper, Frontenac Sr.

Harper, a senior who plays first base, was a hitting machine for the Raiders over her four-year career, tallying 23 home runs, including 18 combined over the last two seasons. She hit .560 as a senior in 2017. The Raiders wouldn’t repeat in 4A-II this season, but Harper was the top power hitter in the area for the second consecutive year.

Co-Coaches of the Year

Brian Mitchell, Riverton

Mitchell led the Lady Rams to a perfect season at 26-0 by capturing the 3A state title for the second consecutive year. Mitchell has four state titles as a coach and it’s the second time he has won two consecutive. What’s most impressive is that Mitchell went undefeated through the brutal CNC league which has won four state titles over the last two years in Kansas high school girls softball with three schools bringing home the hardware (Frontenac – 2016, Riverton – 2016, 2017, Girard – 2017).

Jim Vinze, Girard

Vinze led the Trojans to their first ever state softball title by capturing the 4A-II crown in Emporia in late May. The Trojans also added a state basketball title this March, giving them their only two team titles in the history of their school, boys or girls. Girard only graduates one senior on its squad, so look for a bright future of the Trojans going forward.

Honorable Mention

Kinley Walden – Columbus, Abby Schoech – Columbus, Jaci Hill – Columbus, Madison Cox – Galena, Abby Westmoreland – Galena, Taygun Higinbotham – Riverton, Jaylee Hopkins – Riverton, Kayla Meyer – Frontenac, Madison Davis – Frontenac, Sarah Spencer – Baxter Springs, Kelsey Spence – Baxter Springs, Sophia Piccini – Colgan, Megan Colvin – Southeast, Maleah Sandy – Girard, Laney Shireman – Girard, Marci Heatherly – Girard, Jaylynn Jenkins – Girard, Cambri Conrad – Chetopa, Brianna Francis – Jayhawk Linn, Karlie Stephens – Marmaton Valley, Lindsey Fox – Northeast Arma, Karley Brake – Oswego, Madelynn Collins – Yates Center, Aubrey Corn – St. Paul, Michala Kinzele – Altoona, Rachel Mercer – Chetopa, Sydney Rice -St. Paul, Gabbie Scott – Jayhawk Linn, Madison Sheddrick – Oswego, Holly Shinn – Uniontown, Madison Walker – Northeast Arma, Ashlynn Stipp – Chanute, Shayla Schaper – Indy, Lidzi Pellock – Parsons, Aubrey Ard – Fort Scott, Lane Bolken – Fort Scott, Kara Drake – Chanute, Tristan Gegg- Labette County, Meagan Hizey – Parsons, Chelsea Homan – Coffeyville, Taylor Howland – Independence, Lane Boken – Fort Scott, Aubree Beitzinger – Pittsburg, Abbey Underhill - Baxter Springs. 

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141