v 2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Baseball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Baseball Team

Jarret Dotson of Baxter (left) & Elijah Harris (right) lead the All Area Team from Craw-Kan.
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 7, 2017

Share This Story:

Players eligible from CNC, SEK, TRL leagues. 

2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Baseball


Jarret Dotson, Baxter Springs Sr.

Broc Ginavan, Frontenac Jr.

Zach Hizey, Colgan Sr.

Kaid Karnes, Baxter Springs Sr.

Josh Pralle, Independence Jr.

Noah Vaughan, Pittsburg Sr.

Jake Webb, Pittsburg Sr.


Simon Higginbotham, Colgan Sr.

P.J. Sarwinski, Galena Sr


Tyler Brynds, Colgan Sr.

Grant Goldston, Fort Scott Sr.

Chase Curtis, Pittsburg Jr.

Colan Snodgrass, Independence Sr.

Kyle Stringer, Labette Co. Sr.

Noah Wilson, Baxter Springs Sr.


Trenton Austin, Pittsburg Soph.

Elijah Harris, Pittsburg Sr.

Levi Kemp, Independence Sr.

Josh Miller, Chanute Jr.

Dominic Piccini, Colgan Sr.

Cole Burdette, Southeast-Cherokee, Sr.


Chicago Elias, Independence Sr.

Ethan Goff, Girard Jr.

Kieran Houlihan, Fort Scott Jr.

Josh Forbes, Parsons Sr.

Hunter Friederich, Chanute, Jr.


Bryce Hutchins, Colgan Jr.

Luke Wolgamott, Parsons Jr.

Player of the Year

Elijah Harris, Pittsburg Sr.

Harris was a rare four-time first team All-SEK honoree in baseball. But not only that, he has earned some type of recognition in every sport (football, baseball, basketball) that he has played on the all-area or all-league level over his career. The senior leadoff man is a speedster that featured a .452 batting average, which ranked among the leaders in 5A. Not only was he one of the best offensive players in the area and 5A this season, he was also one of the best defensive players patrolling center field for the Dragons over the last several years. The Dragons finished as 5A regional runner-up, losing in extra innings from a berth at state and had a 16-5 (10-2 SEK) record this season.

Pitcher of the Year

Jarret Dotson, Baxter Springs Sr.

Dotson is a repeat choice as Pitcher of the Year and helped lead his Lions to a second-place finish in 2017 after winning the state title in 2016. Dotson was 27-3 in his career for the Lions, including a 7-2 record in 2017, losing to 2-1A power Colgan and an Oklahoma state qualifier. The Pittsburg State signee was undefeated over his sophomore and junior seasons and was 4-0 in regional championship games on the mound. He was also undefeated in state tournament play over the four years his team went to state.

Coach of the Year

David Dainty, Southeast-Cherokee

Dainty led the Lancers to a fourth-place finish in 3A this season in their first ever state tournament appearance in school history. The Lancers finished the season with a 14-9 record in arguably the state’s top baseball league (CNC) at the 4A-II below level. This season was extra special for Dainty who is an alum of the school, graduating in 2005 where he was an all-state baseball player. 

Honorable Mention

Jake Fiscus – Chanute, Ty Gorman – Fort Scott, Dalton Gromer – Pittsburg, Alec Michaud – Fort Scott, Matt DeAnda – Coffeyville, Pryce Anderson – Labette County, Connor Eicinger – Parsons,  Corbett Kimberlin – Chanute, Dylan Wisdom – Parsons, Jake Wilbert – Frontenac, Brandon Mlekus – Frontenac, Peyton Brown – Frontenac, Ryan Long – Frontenac, Quentin Ausemus – Girard, Evan Troike – Girard, Trenton Diskin – Girard, Trevor Little – Galena, J.C. Shelton – Galena, Carson Shockley – Riverton, Cody McDonald – Riverton, Mikel McCann – Riverton, Jake Burns – Southeast, C.J. Peacock – Southeast, Hunter Jameson – Southeast, Ridge Smith – Columbus, Saylor Stanley – Columbus, Nate Thompson – Baxter, Garrett VanBecelaere – Colgan, Parker Wydick – Colgan, Matt Cashero – Northeast, Jeremy Dale – Northeast, Gavin Dillow – Yates Center, Trevor Compton – Jayhawk Linn, Graham Hathaway – Uniontown, Justice Pugh – Marmaton Valley, Nick Hathaway – Uniontown, Adam Albertini St. Paul, Braven Born – St. Paul, Cale Coyan – Uniontown, Andrew Reed – Uniontown, Zach Nickelson – Jayhawk Linn, Addison Edwards – Northeast


Selection process is handled entirely by Sports in Kansas with additional input from local media and coaches. Special thanks to Mike Snow & Trent Kling of My Town Media for help in compiling these lists and to several area coaches for providing us with info and stats on their players all season long. Also special thanks to Matt Newbery (Crawford County Sports Feed) and Scott Nuzum (Fort Scott Tribune) for providing us with CNC and SEK league standings all season. 

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141