Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36


Ryan Varsolona of Frontenac named COY, while Marque English of Pittsburg named POY. (credits below)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Mar 19, 2017

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2017 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Boys Basketball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here 

2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Boys Basketball Team


First Team

Isaac Bicknell, Frontenac Sr.

Chase Curtis, Pittsburg Jr.

Marque English, Pittsburg Jr.

Brandon Gray, Jayhawk Linn Jr.

Garrett Hall, Galena Jr.

Elijah Harris, Pittsburg Sr.

Simon Higginbotham, Colgan Sr.

Corbett Kimberlin, Chanute Soph.

Aaron King, Yates Center Soph.

Davion Lewis, Independence Fr.

Javon Reliford, Labette Co. Jr.

Tanner Russell, Labette Co. Jr.

P.J. Sarwinski, Galena Sr.

Garrett Shafer, Baxter Springs Sr.

Kamaren Wilson, Coffeyville Sr.

Second Team

Cole Burdette, Southeast Jr.

Jerik Butcher, Pittsburg Jr.

Broc Ginavan, Frontenac Jr.

Ben George, Uniontown Jr.

Easton Dean, Labette Co. Soph.

Brenden Doherty, St. Paul Jr.

Gavyn Elkamil, Pittsburg Fr.

Elijah Elliott, Oswego Sr.

Jamarius Green, Parsons Sr.

Jesse Jones, Fort Scott Jr.

Eian Monsour, Frontenac Sr.

Drew Roelfs, Pittsburg Jr.

Trey White, Baxter Springs Soph.

Jake Wilbert, Frontenac Jr.

Eric Wilson, Girard Sr.

Player of the Year

Marque English, Pittsburg

English, an all 5A selection this season as 6-foot-5, junior, helped lead the Purple Dragons to their first appearance in the 5A state tournament since 1997. English is a repeat first team selection on the All-Area Team after making it as a sophomore in 2017. English averaged 16 points per game and 8.3 rebounds per game this season. (Photo in feature: Jon Cooper, Morning Sun)

Coach of the Year

Ryan Varsolona, Frontenac

Varsolona, in his first year as the head coach of the Raiders, in his second stint with the program, led FHS to the CNC league title for the first time in 13 years. He also took the Raiders to the state tournament for the first time since 2004. The Raiders, were one of the most balanced teams in the area, featuring seven players that averaged at least five points per game. (Photo in feature: Derek Livingston Photography)

Honorable Mention

Josh Hayes – Colgan, Jeremiah Buche – Colgan, Dominic Piccini – Colgan, Billy Dickey – Colgan, Ryan Long – Frontenac, Peyton Brown – Frontenac, Hayden Pile – Frontenac, Isaiah Fisher – Girard, Evan Troike – Girard, Dylan Wilson – Southeast, Kaid Karnes – Baxter Springs, J.C. Shelton – Galena, Coltin Laurence – Columbus, Bailey Lansford – Riverton, Braven Born – St. Paul, Jordan Smith – Yates Center, Colt Sutterby – Uniontown, Kaden McKee – Pleasanton, David Bradbury – Uniontown, Jake McDowell – Northeast Arma, Josh King – Yates Center, Hayden Hermreck – Crest, Dariq Williams – Parsons, Davonte Yates – Parsons, Josh MIller – Chanute.


Chet Kuplen, Managing Partner of Sports in Kansas, handles the entire selection process with input from Southeast Kansas area media. Thanks to Trent Kling and Mike Snow of MyTownMedia with input/scores of Southeast Kansas area basketball in 2016-2017 selection process.  Also special thanks to local media and other contributors:Derek Livingston Photography, Sean Frye of Parsons Sun Sports, Jerod Norris of Hometown Girard, Scott Nuzum of Fort Scott Tribune Sports, Matt Newbery of Crawford County Sports Feed, Lucas Davis of Morning Sun Sports & Jon Cooper, Morning Sun for info, photos and scores throughout the season.


Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141