v 2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Football Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Football Team

Brandon Mlekus of Frontenac & Peyton Usher-Pearson of Indy named Craw-Kan POYs. (Credits in article)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Dec 1, 2016

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2016 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Football Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK (plus Pittsburg) and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here.  Craw-Kan now offers gigabit fiber in Pittsburg and Frontenac! 

2016 Craw-Kan All-Area Team

First Team Offense

QB- Brandon Mlekus, Frontenac, 5-11 180 Sr.

RB- Isaiah McPherson, Labette County, 6-0 200 Sr.

RB- Keenan Stanley, Columbus, 6-2 205 Jr.  

RB- Chandler Struthers, St. Paul, 6-0 180 Sr.

TE- Trevor Kent, Pittsburg, 6-5 255 Sr.

WR- Tanner Russell, Labette County, 5-11 170 Jr.

WR- Kameron Wilson, Coffeyville, 6-5 185 Sr.

WR- Ryan Long, Frontenac, 6-1 190 Sr.

Util- Elijah Harris, Pittsburg 5-9 160 Sr.

OL- A.J. Lusker, Frontenac, 6-2 275 Sr.

OL- Sam Eddington, Columbus, 6-1 230 Jr.

OL- Trevor Little, Galena, 6-3 245 Jr.

OL- Seth Stroble, Independence, 6-0 275 Sr.

OL- Drew White, Pittsburg, 6-0 215 Sr.

OL- Austin Lallamend, Girard, 6-0 200 Sr.

K- Nathan Neef, Pittsburg, 5-11 210 Jr.

First Team Defense

DL- Peyton Usher-Pearson, Independence, 6-1 265 Sr.

DL- Andrew Callahan, Fort Scott, 6-2 260 Jr.

DL- Deveron Duncan, Pittsburg, 6-2 265 Sr.

DL- Sean McIntosh, Coffeyville, 6-2 270 Sr.

DE- Broc Ginavan, Frontenac, 6-4 230 Jr.

DE- Nathan Woods, Pittsburg, 6-3 215 Sr.

LB- Dylan Flora, Frontenac, 6-1 220 Sr.

LB- Bryce Hutchins, Colgan, 5-11 190 Jr.

LB- Rogan Bruce, Labette County, 5-11 170 Jr.

LB- Derek Bollinger, Fort Scott, 5-8 160 Jr.

LB- Dylan Prince, Pittsburg, 6-1 225 Sr.

DB- P.J. Sarwinski, Galena, 6-1 195 Sr.

DB- Isaac Bicknell, Frontenac, 6-1 190 Sr.

DB- Eric Wilson, Girard, 6-0 160 Sr.

DB- Cameron Mitchell, Columbus, 5-10 165 Jr.

P- Tyler Brynds, Colgan, 5-11 170 Sr.

Ret- Max Wilson, Colgan, 6-0 175 Jr.

2016 Craw-Kan Player of the Year Honors

Offensive Player of the Year

Brandon Mlekus, Frontenac Sr. QB

Mlekus rushed for over 1,000 and passed for over 1,000, the only player ever to do so at Frontenac at the quarterback position, in leading the Raiders to a 10-1 record this season. The senior all-state quarterback was 17-5 as the Frontenac starter over the last two seasons and racked up over 4,500 yards of offense over the last two seasons. He was also an all-state defensive back a year ago, where he has started the last three seasons as the Raiders went 27-6 over that span with two CNC titles. Mlekus is also a 4A all-state wrestler and will compete at 170-pounds this season.

Defensive Player of the Year

Peyton Usher-Pearson, Independence Sr. DL

Usher-Pearson, a two-time all-state selection, was the Southeast Kansas League Defensive Player of the Year as a senior this season. The 6-foot-1, 265-pounder, is one of the best lineman in the state on both sides of the football for the SEK League Champion, Bulldogs. Usher-Pearson showed his athleticism this season and features 5.0 forty yard dash speed, while benching over 300 pounds.

Coach of the Year

Keith Wiatrak, St. Paul 

Wiatrak, in his third year as the head coach for the Indians, led them to the playoffs for the first time since the 2010 season. Wiatrak went 3-6 in his first season at SP in 2014, went 6-3 last year and missed the playoffs, but put together a 9-2 season in 2016 to make the playoffs for the first time in six years. Wiatrak is no stranger to the Indian program as he was an All 8-Man quarterback in the early nineties and was a long-time assistant under Doug Tuck, who won two state titles at St. Paul (2000, 2002).

Honorable Mention

Kyle Woods – Indy, Levi Kemp – Independence, Zac Shaffer – Independence, Will Schabel – Indy, Chicago Elias – Indy, Colin Snodgrass – Indy, Tate Phillips – LCHS, Alex Carter – LCHS, Owyn Back – LCHS, Logan Dean – LCHS, Skylar Gatewood – LCHS, Braden Baker - LCHS, Connor Smith – Colgan, Josh Hayes – Colgan, Billy Dickey – Colgan, Drew Beck – Colgan, Zach Hizey – Colgan, Jake Wilbert – Frontenac, Cal Strand – Frontenac, Austin Madl – Frontenac, Trey Harris – Frontenac, Tristan Fay – Frontenac, Ryan Hemby – Frontenac, Caden Bollinger – Frontenac, Peyton Hale – Columbus, Ridge Smith – Columbus, Doug Dardeene – Baxter, Jace Flood – Baxter Springs, Garret Hall – Galena, Jordan Hopson - Girard, Jeremiah Buche – Colgan, Matt Miles – Baxter Springs, Kody Robinson – Columbus, Isiah Fisher – Girard, Ethan Henson – Galena, Dalton Lindbloom – Girard, Donavan Anderson – Baxter, Jacob Otter – Colgan, Austin Harshman – Galena, Garrett Van Becelaere – Colgan, Shane Redfern – Girard, Alex Brown – Colgan, Zach Porter – Columbus, Joseph Helton – Galena, Michael Helton – Galena, Justice Catron – Chanute, Jamar Green – Parsons, Gunnar Brown – Fort Scott, Cody Stephens – Parsons, Sean McIntosh – Coffeyville, Matt DeVoe – Chanute, Zarek Fewell – Fort Scott, Taylor Engstrom – Fort Scott, Cole McGrew – Jayhawk Linn, Ethan Garris – Oswego, Hayden Miller – Uniontown, Chase Curtis - Pittsburg, Noah Vaughn - Pittsburg, Joel Kafka - Pittsburg, Jhalani Long - Pittsburg, Keyth Waltrip - Pittsburg, Cole Sutterby – Uniontown, Cale Coyan – Uniontown, Bryan Siu – Oswego, Harley Stone – Jayhawk Linn, Brandon Gray – Jayhawk Linn, Jake McDowell – NE Arma, Chad Coleman – Jayhawk Linn, Elijah Elliott – Jayhawk Linn, Tyler Harris – Yates Center, Bryce Nation – Jayhawk Linn, Cole McGrew – Jayhawk Linn, Logan Tidd – Yates Center, Jake Walker – Oswego, Jeremy Dale – NE Arma, Mikey Bruner – Yates Center, Ryan Gainer – Chetopa, Jake Kale – Marmaton Valley, Noah Winter – St. Paul, Anthony Albertini – St. Paul, Jace McCracken – St. Paul, Patrick O’Brien – St. Paul, Trevor Wilson – Marmaton Valley, Colin Carlson – St. Paul, Koby Spielbush – St. Paul, Nik Peterson – Crest, Kaden McKee – Pleasanton, Jacob Hays – Altoona Midway, Hayden Seabolt – Crest, Nate Miller – Pleasanton, Ronnie Duncan – Pleasanton, Tavyn Springston – Crest

Sports in Kansas handles the entire selection process with input from local media. Special thanks to Mike Snow and Trent Kling of ESPN 100.7 for input on the selections. Also special thanks to Scott Nuzum (Fort Scott Tribune), Sean Frye (Parsons Sun) & Thomas Lott (Indy Daily Reporter) for providing us with info and photos this season. 

Photo Credit: Mlekus (Derek Livingston Photography), Usher-Pearson (Indy Daily Reporter)

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141