v 2021 Sports in Kansas 5A All-State Softball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2021 Sports in Kansas 5A All-State Softball Team

Brewster twins earned 5A SIK POY as they led Carroll to the state title.
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen w/ Conor Nicholl
Jun 21, 2021

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released its 2021 All-State Softball Team. Selections were finalized by Sports in Kansas (Chet Kuplen & Conor Nicholl) with input from several (25+) media members/media outlets in Kansas, this is not the coaches association team or just its members, every league and team in Kansas are eligible. Teams were also selected after the conclusion of the season. While the selection process is never perfect we encourage cooperation throughout the season with info/stats sent into Sports in Kansas at sportsinkansas@gmail.com. 


2021 Sports in Kansas 5A Softball Player of the Year

Kadence & Kiley Brewster, Jr. Bishop Carroll 

Junior twins Kadence and Kiley Brewster formed the battery for an undefeated Bishop Carroll squad. Kadence was the team’s ace pitcher, and Kiley served as the catcher. They helped longtime power Bishop Carroll win its first state championship since 2015 after a runner-up showing in 2019. Bishop Carroll finished 23-0 after a 4-0 win versus St. Thomas Aquinas, a 3-1 victory versus Goddard-Eisenhower and a 4-3 win versus Basehor-Linwood. Carroll ended Shawnee Heights’ run. SH had captured the last four Class 5A titles. Bishop Carroll has won 14 all-time state championships, most in Kansas history. This marked the third with coach Steve Harshberger, who finished 25-0 in ’14 and ’15.

This season, ’15, ’14 and ’01 rank as Bishop Carroll’s lone four undefeated seasons since at least ’93, per KSHSAA archives.

Kiley hit .655 with 12 doubles, three triples, four homers and 34 RBI in the team’s last statistical release. She paced the team in most offensive categories, including batting average (min. 11 at-bats). Kadence batted .509 with eight doubles, three triples and five homers. In the circle, Kadence finished 8-0 with a 1.02 ERA. In 41 innings, she struck out 70 against seven walks.


Sports in Kansas 2021 5A Softball Coach of the Year

Steve Harshberger, Bishop Carroll

Bishop Carroll coach Steve Harshberger has led one of the great dynasties in recent Kansas sports. BC went 23-0 and won the Class 5A state championship. Topeka and Bishop Carroll were Kansas’ lone undefeated softball/baseball champions this year. BC has won more than 100 conference games in a row.

Bishop Carroll was dominant throughout the year, including wins against Maize (5-1), Wichita Northwest (8-0 and 4-2), Kapaun (4-2), Goddard-Eisenhower (3-1) and Goddard (5-2). At state, Bishop Carroll beat Aquinas, 4-0, then defeated Eisenhower, 3-1, and Basehor-Linwood, 4-3.

Both Goddard and Eisenhower were 5A Final Four squads. Eisenhower went 20-5, and Goddard finished 17-8. Maize went 15-7 and Wichita Northwest was 17-5. Those teams went a combined 0-6 against Bishop Carroll.

BC had significant dominance and depth with juniors Kiley and Kadence Brewster, Kendall Forbes, Kaylee Back, Eve Morris and seniors Gabby Eck and Emma Green. Bishop Carroll has reached the state tournament all seven years under Harshberger and reached the state finale six times. Harshberger is 160-9 as Bishop Carroll’s coach.

Eck, Green, Morris, Forbes and the Brewster twins were all returning starters from 2019. Eck has signed with Division II Rockhurst (Mo.) University. Eck and the Brewster twins picked up all-state honors.

A key coaching move happened in the state championship game. BC pulled Kadence Brewster and brought her back in for the sixth inning with runners on second and third and one out. She struck out two batters to end the threat. Haley Doffing also had a key outfield catch in the state tournament.


2021 Sports in Kansas 5A All-State Softball

First Team Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

P- Kadence Brewster, Bishop Carroll

P- Kendal LeGrand, Goddard

P- Taylor Cruse, Basehor Linwood

P- Riley Wertz, Maize

C- Alexis Mastin, Eisenhower

C- Samantha Price, Basehor Linwood

IF- Gabby Eck, Carroll

IF- Kiley Brewster, Bishop Carroll 

IF- Raigan Kramer, Seaman

IF- Bailey Way, Andover

IF- Kendall Forbes, Bishop Carroll

IF- Ava Bredwell, Mill Valley

OF- Stevie Meade, Aquinas

OF- Malia January, Spring Hill

OF- Bella Rollo, Basehor Linwood,

OF- Emma McCall, Mill Valley

Util- Carley Billings, Bonner Springs

Sports in Kansas Second Team All-State Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

P- Vanessa Murray, Spring Hill

P- Mykayla Johnico, Shawnee Heights,

P- Allyson Montgomery, Eisenhower

P- Tess Eubank, Andover

C- Gaige Pinkerton, Spring Hill

C- Maddy Cole, Aquinas

IF- Abby Schulte, Shawnee Heights

IF- Toria Thaw, Newton

IF- Kali Terry, Pittsburg

IF- Maci George, Valley Center

IF- Lucy Hooper, Valley Center

OF- Elizabeth Hunt, Kapaun

OF-Mariah Hererra, Bonner Springs

OF- Ellie Tribble, Mill Valley

OF- Kate Paulson, Andover Central

Util- Madi Byerley, Aquinas 

Sports in Kansas 5A All-State Softball Honorable Mention 

Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

Adisyn Hopkins – Mill Valley, Sophie Brickman – BVSW, Evvie Collier – Aquinas, Madi Byerly – Aquinas, Gianna Lickel – St. James, Bailey Weber – BVSW, Tori Woodard – BVSW, Molly Heidrick – BVSW, Aubree Thomas – Hays, Sydney Unrush – Great Bend, Paige Thexton – Great Bend,  Adysen Burghardt – Shawnee Heights, Taylor Hawkins – Shawnee Heights, Deja Gardenhire – Shawnee Heights, Kynlea Heydenreich – Seaman, Skylar Duncan- Seaman, Cailee Dempewolf – Seaman, Emma Smith – Seaman, Cheyenne Hunt – Pittsburg, Hannah Gray – Pittsburg, Mila Seaton – Basehor Linwood, Avery Karlin – De Soto, Janelle Lang – De Soto, Marisa Johnson – De Soto, Ariah Durkes – Shawnee Heights, Maddie Reynolds – De Soto, Landri Lopez – Leavenworth, Grace Rose – Basehor Linwood, Britney Hoffman – Basehor Linwood, Jessica Lutgen – Basehlor Linwood, Audrey Spellman – Basehor Linwood, Kaylee Back – Bishop Carroll, Emma Green – Bishop Carroll, C.J. Wollgamuth – Kapaun, Anna Stephen – Bishop Carroll, Eve Morris – Bishop Carroll, Tegan Livesay – Newton, Peyton Samek – Maize, Maja Djurovic – Maize, Piper Seidl- Maize, Mariah Janda – Salina South, Allyson Montgomery – Eisenhower, Sykora Smith – Valley Center, Makenzie Maring – Salina Central, Lauren McNaught – Eisenhower, Natalie Klenda – Goddard, Kate Paulsen – Andover Central, Tori Turner – Valley Center, Jaylee Jefferson – Andover Central, Cheyenee Blackwood – Valley Center, Emily Ashford – Bonner Springs, Mya January – Spring Hill, Vanessa Murray – Spring Hill, Gaige Pinkerton – Spring Hill, Kaitlyn Bradbury – Piper, Wren VanCleave – Bonner Springs, Shalom Searcy – Piper, Paitlyn Flood – Spring Hill, Sage Grann – Piper, Kyle Brockman – Piper

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141