v 2018 Sports in Kansas 4A-I All-State Baseball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2018 Sports in Kansas 4A-I All-State Baseball Team

Putz (Miege) & O'Toole (Ark City) take home top honors (Donita Clausen -The Cowley Courier Traveler)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 11, 2018

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released its 2018 All-State Baseball Team. Selections were finalized by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas with input from several media outlets in Kansas. Input was taken from coaches and athletic director nomination forms sent in to Sports in Kansas following the 2018 season, not prior. This is not the Coaches Association Team, this is from Sports in Kansas only. They also have an all-state team voted on by member coaches prior to the state tournaments. 


Sports in Kansas 4A-I Player of the Year

Carter Putz, Bishop Miege Sr.

The senior infielder will go down as one of the best multiple sport athletes in Kansas history. Although he may be more known as a high school quarterback that rewrote all the football record books in Kansas, his best sport at the next level is baseball and that’s what he will do at Notre Dame next school year. The senior, who has been committed to the Irish since his sophomore year, led the Stags to a 4A-I state runner-up finish and hit .460 in arguable the states best league (EKL). Putz had 40 hits over 25 games that included six doubles, four triples, three homers and 23 RBI.

Sports in Kansas 4A-I Pitcher of the Year

Hunter O’Toole, Ark City Sr.

O’Toole was one of the most dominant pitchers in the state and led his team to capturing the 4A-I state championship this season. O’Toole has been an immediate impact player for the Bulldogs since his arrival as a freshman garnering all league four seasons in a row. He was also the player who scored the buzzer beater to beat Andover Central this March in the 4A-I 3rd place game and a second team all-league receiver in football this fall. Where he shines is on the mound as he struck out 65 batters in 51.1 innings pitched with a 0.41 ERA to go along with a 6-1 record. Not only did he get it done on the mond, he also hit .356 this season and boasts 3.91 GPA in the classroom


Congratulations Hunter O’Toole on the 4A-I Pitcher of the Year and the Arkansas City High School Baseball Team on the 2018 4A-I State Championship! ACHS Booster Club is proud to support the Bulldogs!

Sports in Kansas 4A-I Coach of the Year

Aaron Bucher, Ark City

The Bulldogs won the 4A-I state title in run-rule fashion over Bishop Miege (11-1) in Emporia for their first state title since 2002. It was also their first trip to the state tournament since 2006. Two years ago Ark City had just three wins and have been paired in regionals with state powers even when they were up in 5A. It was a task just to get out of the regionals but once they did this year the Bulldogs won three games at the state tourney. They blasted Independence (10-0) by run-rule in round one, before going to extra innings with a familiar league foe in Andover Central (1-0) in the semis, before the 11-1 run-rule over Miege in the title game. What a year it has been for Ark City in boys sports.


Congratulations to the Arkansas City High School Baseball Team and Coach Bucher on the 2018 4A-I State Championship! ACHS Booster Club is proud to support the Bulldogs!

2018 Sports in Kansas 4A-I All-State Baseball

First Team

P- Hunter O’Toole, Ark City Sr.

P- Garret VanDevente, Ark City Jr.

P- Dylan Werries, McPherson Sr.

P- Jared Parenti, Ottawa Sr.

P-  Austin Zellers, Andover Central Sr.

P- Ethan Axman, Bishop Miege Sr.

C- Chandler Bloomer, Ottawa Sr.

C- Paul Wendling, Miege Sr.

IF- Cooper Elliott, Andover Central Sr.

IF- Carter Putz, Bishop Miege Sr.

IF- Matt Campbell, Fort Scott Jr.

IF- Andrew Brautman, Ark City Sr.

OF-Caleb Hitt, Andale/Garden Plain Sr.

OF – Jackson Llewalen, Andover Central Sr.

OF- Nick Modes, Paola Sr.

OF- Lane Coulter, Circle Sr.

OF- Josh Pralle, Independence Sr.

Util- Kurt Golubski, Paola Sr.

Util- Cade Gonzalez, Ark City Sr.

DH- Lawson Schultz, Buhler Sr.

DH/Util- Jayden Price, Mulvane Sr.

Second Team

P-Brody Cates, Andale/Garden Plain Sr.

P- Dawson Dreher, Buhler Sr.

P- Josiah Crowley, Bonner Springs Sr.

C- Clark Schoonover, Andover Central Sr.

C- Pryce Anderson - Labette County Sr. 

IF- Kaleb Shaffer – Ottawa Sr.

IF- Cal Bloomfield, Independence Sr.

IF- Brandon Walker, KC Piper Jr.

IF- Drew Perez, Miege Sr. 

IF- Sam Savoie, Andale/Garden Plain Sr.

IF- Lane Harvey, Chanute Jr.

IF- Tyson Cheatham, Spring Hill Jr.

OF- Jackson Burrell, Spring Hill Sr.

OF- Khalil Thrasher, Eudora Sr.

OF- Alec Michaud, Fort Scott Sr.

OF-Peyton Garvin, Eudora, Sr.

OF- Gage Gerlach, Mulvane Soph.

DH- Stratton Stamp, Andover Central Sr.

Util- Adam Schrag, Buhler

Honorable Mention

(Order patches ASAP at sportsinkansas@gmail.com)

Clay Westbrooks – Augusta, Jhet Burkhart – Buhler, Ben Epp – Buhler, Colton Goans – Buhler, Easton Unruh – Circle, Jake Brown – Buhler, Gunnar Reiss- McPherson, Zane Myers – McPherson, Traiton Suttles – Winfield, Jonny Clausing – Augusta, Jaren Jackson – Augusta, Kyler Vandergeisen – Mulvane, Aaron Moore – Rose Hill, Greg Hatfield – Wellington, Cade Phelps – Wellington, Brett Nelson – Mulvane, Dylan Hahn Andale/Garden Plain, , Trey Riggs – Hays, Easton Barrier – Circle, Palmer Hutchinson – Hays, Owen Lamar – Ottawa, Russell Simmons – Bonner Springs, Kallen Barber – Ulysses, Brice NIttler – Ark City, Nathan Klein – Mulvane, Kevin Scott – Atchison, Matt Schrick – Atchison, Hunter Frederich – Chanute, Corbett Kimberlin – Chanute, Brady Masters – Fort Scott, Easton Barrier – Circle, Jorge Ronquillo – Ulysses, Halen David – Ark City, Madden Rutherford – Louisburg, Garrett Harding – Louisburg, Chase Torkelson – Basehor Linwood, Seth Bugner – Andale/Garden Plain, Ethan Bassler – Tonganoxie, Chandler Hamman – Tonganoxie, Austin Fisher – Tonganoxie, Gabe Hoover – McPherson, Andrew Rogers – Wamego, Michael Dagget – Paola, Coby Henley – Bonner Springs, Kieran Houliahan – Fort Scott, Jayden Pierce – Eudora, Nate Spencer – Ark City, Chase Watkins – Ark City, Jude Putz – Miege, Connor Dumit – Miege, Matt Moriaty – Miege, Nick Purcell – Miege, David Robinson – Miege, Michael Daggett - Paola, Evan Peuser - Paola, Chad Bones - Ottawa, Seth Bugner - Andale/Garden Plain, Clay Westbrooks- Augusta, Trace Blakesly - Augusta, Michael Post - Andale/Garden Plain, Russell Simmons - Bonner Springs, Kevin Scott - Atchison

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141