Brad Herlocker of Girard named COY & Tristan Gegg of Labette Co. named POY. (photo credits in story)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Mar 18, 2017

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2017 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Girls Basketball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here 

2017 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Girls Basketball Team


First Team

Riley Abernathy, Baxter Springs Sr.

Calea Augustin, Girard Sr.

Delaney Barnes, Baxter Springs Fr.

Madison Cook, Fort Scott Jr.

Sydnee Crain, Girard Jr.

Tristan Gegg, Labette County Jr.

Shalina Harper, Uniontown Sr.

Taylor Muff, Pittsburg Sr.

Katelin O’Brien, St. Paul Sr.

Emily Paterni, Colgan Sr.

Ashley Ray, Girard Sr.

Abby Schoech, Columbus Sr.

Kallie Smith, Independence Sr.

Nena Taylor, Parsons Soph.

Daeshia Turner, Pittsburg Sr.

Second Team

Abbie Casper, Pittsburg Jr.

Kelsea Choate, Northeast-Arma Sr.

Cathy Farmer, Colgan Soph.

Olivia Hanson, Girard Sr.

Kaylee Harper, Frontenac Sr.

Paige Jensen, Galena Jr.

Logan Lord, Pittsburg Sr.

Zoe Marshall, Pleasanton Jr.

Rindy Marquez, Indpendence Sr.

Molly Rollins, Chanute Soph.

Madison Sheddrick, Oswego Sr.

Aubrie Sorrell, Labette Co. Jr.

Bailee Ulery, Southeast-Cherokee Sr.

Autumn Walker, Northeast-Arma Sr.

Emily Winter, St. Paul Sr.

Player of the Year

Tristan Gegg, Labette County Jr.

Gegg, a junior guard, averaged 26 points per game for the Grizzlies over her junior year and has earned Craw-Kan Player of the Year the last three seasons. She led the Grizzlies to a 4A-I state tournament berth this season. Gegg is on pace to score over 2,000 points in her career next season. (Photo Credit Feature: Sean Frye, Parsons Sun Sports)

Coach of the Year

Brad Herlocker, Girard

Herlocker has done something no other coach in the history of Girard High School has done and that is win a state title at the school. The Lady Trojans captured the first state title in school history with their 54-48 victory over Jefferson West in the 4A-II state title game in Emporia. Herlocker led GHS to a 24-1 record in 2016-2017, with their only loss coming to 6A ranked Washburn-Rural in a game that was not originally on the Trojans schedule. (Photo Credit Feature: Joyce Kovacic, Hometown Girard)

Honorable Mention

Morgan Mavers – Indy, Lyssa Schabel – Indy, Skyelar Brown – Fort Scott, Gwyn Dean – Labette Co., Brianna Francis – Jayhawk Linn, Laurel Godderz – Colony Crest, Holly Shinn – Uniontown, Sidney Rice – St. Paul, Breanna Vail – Oswego, Sailor Jackson – Southeast, Taylor Peterson – Frontenac, Abby Westmoreland – Galena, Abby Sills – Columbus, Olivia Patterson – Riverton, Cheyanna VanMoss – Baxter Springs, Marci VanBeceleare – Colgan, Jacey Murphy – Girard, Kelly Cuthbertson – Girard. 


Chet Kuplen, Managing Partner of Sports in Kansas, handles the entire selection process with input from local media. Thanks to Trent Kling and Mike Snow of MyTownMedia with input/scores of Southeast Kansas area basketball in 2016-2017 selection process.  Also special thanks to local media and other contributors:Sean Frye of Parsons Sun Sports, Jerod Norris of Hometown Girard, Scott Nuzum of Fort Scott Tribune Sports, Matt Newbery of Crawford County Sports Feed, Lucas Davis of Morning Sun Sports & Jon Cooper, Morning Sun for info, photos and scores throughout the season.