v 2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team

Taylor Compton of Riverton (left) & Kaylee Harper of Frontenac (right) earned top honors.
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 13, 2016

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2016 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Softball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here

First Team Craw-Kan All-Area

Lane Bohlken, Fort Scott Soph.

Hannah Burnett, Independence Soph.

Jamee Compton, Riverton Soph.

Taylor Compton, Riverton Jr.

Sydnee Crain, Girard Soph.

Courtney Day, Independence Sr.

Sydney Dent, Jayhawk-Linn Sr. 

Abby Denton, Fort Scott Sr.

Bridget Dunlay, Parsons Jr.

Kennedi Fields, Frontenac Sr.

Taylor Frazier, Galena Sr.

Katie Gorman, Fort Scott Sr.

Alex Green, Riverton Sr.

Sam Greninger, Riverton Jr.

Shaylun Grostephan, Girard Soph.

Kaylee Harper, Frontenac Jr.

Abby Harris, Pittsburg Sr.

Hailey Humphrey, Baxter Springs Sr.

Taylor Krokroskia, Fort Scott Jr.

Jordan Lunsford, Southeast Sr.

Emily Merando, Frontenac Sr.

Kayla Meyer, Frontenac Jr.

Brittany Miner, Baxter Springs Sr.

Jacey Murphy, Girard Soph.

Bailey Naden, Coffeyville Jr.

Sydney Russell, Colgan Sr.

Lyssa Schabel, Independence Soph.

Gwen Smalley, Frontenac Jr.

Shelby Smith, Girard Soph.

Madisyn Thompson. Chanute Soph.

Macy VanCleave, Galena Sr.

Madison Vogel, Pittsburg Soph.

Abby Walker, Chanute Jr.

Autumn Walker, Northeast-Arma Jr.

Macy Williams, Riverton Sr.

Sierra Wilson, Labette County Jr.

Player of the Year

Kaylee Harper, Frontenac Jr.

It’s hard to argue with Harper and this nod as she had one of the best Southeast Kansas area postseasons in the history of the state tournament. Harper, one of the top power hitters in Kansas, hit 10 HR this season for the 4A-II state champion Frontenac Raiders. She shined when it mattered most as she hit five home runs over five postseason games. She hit one in regional semifinals, two in regional championship and two in the state championship, despite being walked eight times over that period.

Pitcher of the Year

Taylor Compton, Riverton Jr.

Compton was nearly untouchable in the circle this season as she led the Rams to the 3A state title. Not only did Compton go 3-0 as a pitcher at state, she hit the game winning HR in the 11th inning to beat Oskaloosa 2-0 for the 3A state title, after throwing 11 scoreless innings.

Coach of the Year

Cassie Rhuems, Frontenac

Rhuems led the Raiders to their first state softball title in school history by capturing the 4A-II state championship in Emporia. After starting the season rough at 5-7 in the always highly competitive CNC League, the Raiders went on fire to win their last 13 games. She was also the head coach of the last time the Raiders played for a state championship, when they finished second in 2011.

Honorable Mention

Caitlyn Burdick – Pittsburg,  Aubree Beitzinger – Pittsburg, Bailey Brown – Fort Scott, Alyiah Clemens – Labette County, Hannah Geneva – Fort Scott, Paige March – Labette County, Sierra Thompson – Chanute, Alison Schoenefer – Chanute, Lindsay Pellock – Parsons, Morgan Mavers – Independence, Rindy Marquez – Independence, Vanessa Yaghmour – Pittsburg, Alexis Pena – Baxter Springs, Makayla Hart- Galena, Abbey Westmoreland – Galena, Taylor Peterson – Frontenac, Julia Faletti – Frontenac, Kamryn Osborn – Frontenac, Madison Davis – Frontenac, Shelby Blythe – Frontenac, Zoey Ball – Southeast, Laney Shireman – Girard, Jaci Hill – Columbus, Jaylee Hopkins – Riverton, Rhyann Pittman – Galena, Madison Marietta – Colgan, Sarah Spencer – Baxter Springs, Aimee Wimp – Oswego, Tiffany Wimp – Oswego, Breanna Vail – Oswego, Aubry Corn – St. Paul, Kiley Maurer – St. Paul, Holly Shinn – Uniontown, Taylor Cooper – Uniontown, Rachel Mercer – Chetopa, Brianna Francis – Jayhawk Linn, Lauren Sluder – Jayhawk Linn, Gabbie Scott- Jayhawk Linn, Ashlynn Pinkerton – Marmaton Valley, Kyla Drake – Marmaton Valley, Madison Walker – Northeast Arma, Kelsea Choate – Northeast Arma, Lindsey Fox – Northeast Arma, Haley Robinson – Nortehast Arma. 

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141