2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Baseball Team

Jarret Dotson of Baxter (left) & Ryan Cedeno of Colgan (right). Photos: Scott Miles, Aaron Cedeno)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 7, 2016

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2016 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Baseball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here

First Team All-Area


Jarret Dotson, Baxter Springs Jr.

Kaid Karnes, Baxter Springs Jr.

Kyler Manbeck, Chanute Sr.

Andrew Stewart, Colgan Sr.

Noah Vaughan, Pittsburg Jr.

Chase Van Becelaere, Colgan Sr.


Quinton Ausemus, Girard Jr.

Kaleb DeLaTorre, Fort Scott Sr.

Kaleb Hulsey, Galena Sr.

Javon Morrill, Columbus Sr.

Kenton Richards, Chanute Sr.

Klein Ryan, Labette County Sr.

Jabes Turner, Baxter Springs Sr.

Josh Miller, Chanute Jr.


Elijah Harris, Pittsburg Sr.

Braden Hesse, Baxter Sr.

Josh Pralle, Independence Soph.

P.J. Sarwinski, Galena Sr.

Dalton Weaver, Riverton Sr.

Cole Burdette, Southeast Jr.


Ryan Cedeno, Colgan Sr.

Brady Colvin, Parsons Sr.

Grant Goldston, Fort Scott Jr.

Nate Miller, Baxter Springs Sr.

Designated Hitter

Ethan Snider, Northeast Arma Sr.

Jake Webb, Pittsburg Jr.

Carter Young, Fort Scott Sr.


Pryce Anderson, Labette County. Soph. (OF/P)

Tyler Brynds, Colgan Jr. (INF/P)

Kieran Houliahan, Fort Scott Sr. (Util)

Tanner Smith, Frontenac Sr. (INF/C)

Player of the Year

Ryan Cedeno, Colgan Sr., Catcher

Cedeno started on four consecutive state title teams at Colgan at catcher.  Cedeno led the Panthers with a .500 average and hit 11 doubles and 29 RBI in 2016. Colgan played the toughest schedule in the Southeast Kansas area and only 11 runners in 139 innings attempted to steal on him in a schedule that featured Webb City, Carl Junction, Bishop Ward, Baxter Springs and the very tough CNC. Cedeno was also named the Kansas Association of Baseball Coaches 2-1A Player of the Year. He has signed with Pittsburg State University.

Pitcher of the Year

Jarret Dotson, Baxter Springs Jr., RHP

Doton has been nearly untouchable on the mound in his career as a Lion. The junior right hander is 20-1 in his career with his last loss coming in his first start ever as a freshman.  Dotson features a fast ball in the high eighties and was named the 4A-II Pitcher of the Year by the Kansas Association of Baseball Coaches. Along with Kaid Karnes, they formed one of the best starting pitching duos in the state of Kansas for 2016. Baxter Springs won the 2016 4A-II state title, it was their first state title since 2007.

Co-Coaches of the Year

Zack Murry, Chanute

Murry led the Blue Comets to their first state appearance since 2006 with a berth in the 4A-I state tournament. The last time Chanute made the state tourney, Murry was a senior infielder on the squad. Murry, a former junior college All-American at Neosho County and player in the Colorado Rockies organization, led the Comets to a 15-7 record, including a 9-3 record in the SEK League for 2016.

Josh Reagan, Fort Scott

Fort Scott nearly lost everyone from a year ago off their 4A-I state tournament team and ended up with their fourth straight SEK League Title in 2016. The Tigers battled several injuries to their pitching staff in 2016, but still ended up with an impressive 14-8 mark and only lost two league games.

Honorable Mention

Evan Sprague – Independence, Sawyer Esch – Colgan, Colton Trejo – Southeast, Luten Warrick – Frontenac, Brandon Mlekus – Frontenac, Kyle Martin – Galena, Matt Duley – Riverton, Garrett VanBecelaere – Colgan, Tanner Stout – Girard, Garrett Barnaby – Girard, Cody McDonald – Riverton, Austin Napier – Columbus, Noah Wilson – Baxter Springs, Jarret Lyon – Fort Scott, Taylor Engsrom – Fort Scott, Grant McMillen – Chanute, Jake Fiscus – Chanute, Chase Curtis – Pittsburg, Dylan Wisdom – Parsons, Tristan Smith – Parsons, Dalson Hamlin – Independence, Luke Dunn – Independence, Adam Rutherford – Coffeyville, Bryce Nation – Jayhawk Linn, Cole McGrew – Jayhawk Linn, Trevor Compton – Jayhawk Linn, Garrett Thompson – Jayhawk Linn, Brett Nation – Jayhawk Linn, Travinn Oliver – Northeast, Ashton Edwards – Northeast, Brendon Doughert – St. Paul, Braven Born – St. Paul, Colby Spillbush – St. Paul, Cale Coyan – Uniontown, David Bradbury – Uniontown, Kolby Sestet – Uniontown, Keagan Boyd – Marmaton Valley, Jake Walker – Oswego. 


Special thanks to Mike Snow and Trent Kling of MyTownMedia as contributors for the all-area team. Also thanks to Scott Nuzum of Fort Scott Tribune and Matt Newbery of Crawford County Sports Feed for their league record updates all season long.