Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36


Laike Damman (left) and Drew Davied (right) of Girard highlight the list of Craw-Kan All-Area.
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Mar 23, 2016

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released the 2016 Craw-Kan "Your Community Technology Partner" Southeast Kansas All-Area Boys Basketball Team. Players are made up from the CNC, SEK and TRL leagues in Kansas. Every week Sports in Kansas releases a "Craw-Kan Team of the Week" from the Southeast Kansas area. Visit Craw-Kan online here

2016 Craw-Kan Southeast Kansas All-Area Boys Basketball Team

First Team

Matt Abernathy, Baxter Springs, 6-3 Sr.

Laike Damman, Girard, 6-1 Sr.

Drew Davied, Girard, 6-6 Sr.

Kaleb DeLaTorre, Fort Scott, 6-0 Sr.

Marque English, Pittsburg, 6-4 Soph.

Hunter Frazell, Colony-Crest, 5-7 Sr.

Aaron Haviland, Chanute, 5-11 Sr.

Troy Howard, NE-Arma, 6-0 Sr.

Chandler Jackson, SE-Cherokee, 6-5 Sr.

Jaylynn Lawrie, Independence, 6-3 Sr.

Trey Lind, Chanute, 6-4 Sr.

Grant North, Riverton, 6-5 Sr.

P.J. Sarwinski, Galena, 5-10 Jr.

Kyle Smith, Riverton, 6-4 Sr.

Dylan Untereker, Pittsburg, 6-3 Sr.

Second Team

Jacob Almond, Parsons Sr.

Seth Graham, Coffeyville Sr.

Brandon Gray, Jayhawk Linn Soph.

Garrett Elder, Uniontown Jr.

Garrett Hall, Galena Soph.

Carlos Hererra, Frontenac Sr.

Brenton Laver, Pleasanton Sr.

Drew Mills, NE-Arma Sr.

Garrett Normand, Colgan Sr.

Klein Ryan, Labette County Sr.

Adrian Scroggins, Pittsburg Sr.

Evan Godderz, Colony-Crest Sr.

Juwaun Thompson, Coffeyville Sr.

Chase VanBecelaere, Colgan Sr.

Eric Wilson, Girard Jr.

Player of the Year

Drew Davied, Girard Sr.

Davied, a 6-foot-6 senior, was one of the best players in Kansas this season and helped his Trojan team to a fourth place finish at the 4A-II state tournament in Emporia earlier this month. Davied averaged nearly 19 points per game as a senior and is a repeat selection on the Craw-Kan All-Area team. He was a first team All-4A selection along with teammate Laike Damman and was the lone SEK area player to earn all-class honors, being selected to the third team (Top 30) by Sports in Kansas. Davied, one of the nation’s top high jumpers with a career best of 6-foot-10, won 4A state titles in the event in 2013 & 2014.

Coach of the Year

Kiley Roelfs, Pittsburg

Roelfs led Pittsburg to their first outright Southeast Kansas League title in 41 years (1974-1975). Pittsburg went an impressive 9-3 in league play. Roelfs, who shared a league title back in 2008-2009 with Fort Scott & Labette County, got his first outright title as a head coach at PHS. Pittsburg finished the 2015-2016 campaign with a 13-8 record, a year after going 6-14.

Honorable Mention

Elijah Harris – Pittsburg, Sherrick Rogers – Pittsburg, Kameron Wilson – Coffeyville, Caleb Johnson – Independence, Dalton Weaver – Riverton, Tyler Babbitt – Columbus, Cole Burdette – Southeast, Tyler Green – Girard, Trevor Little – Galena, Ryan Menghini – Frontenac, Garrett Shafer – Baxter Springs, Ethan Snider – NE Arma, Elijah Elliott – Oswego, Braven Born – St. Paul, Brady Newman – Marmaton Valley, David Bradbury – Uniontown, Kyler Dreiling – Oswego, Noah Winter – St. Paul, Brenden Doherty – St. Paul, Austin Brown – Riverton, Cole McGrew – Jayhawk Linn, Dakota Carter – Altoona, Keegan Boyd – Marmaton Valley, Garrett Sipe – Colony Crest, Kross Hamblin – Girard, Junior Lindbloom – Girard.


Chet Kuplen, Managing Partner of Sports in Kansas, handles the entire selection process with input from local media. Thanks to contributors Aaron Amershek, Trent Kling, Zoel Lopez and Mike Snow of MyTownMedia with input/scores of Southeast Kansas area basketball in 2015-2016.  Also special thanks to local media and other contributors: Josh Adamson of SEK-Sports.com, Kenny Elrod of SEK-Sports.com, Sean Frye of Parsons Sun Sports, Jerod Norris of Hometown Girard, Scott Nuzum of Fort Scott Tribune Sports, Matt Newbery of Crawford County Sports Feed, Nolan Peters of Columbus News-Report & Judd Schossow,contributor to Sports in Kansas, for info, photos and scores throughout the season. 

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141