v 2019 Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Softball Team - Sports in Kansas

2019 Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Softball Team

Tatum Clopton named 6A Player of the Year from SIK. (Photo: Sunflower League Softball)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen w/ Conor Nicholl
Jun 17, 2019

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released its 2019 All-State Softball Team. Selections were finalized by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas with input from several media members in Kansas, this is not the coaches association team or just its members. Teams were also selected after the conclusion of the season. While the selection process is never perfect we encourage cooperation throughout the season with info/stats sent into Sports in Kansas at sportsinkansas@gmail.com. 

2019 Sports in Kansas 6A Softball Player of the Year

Tatum Clopton, Free State, Sophomore 

Clopton, a sophomore and Oklahoma State commit, was the Sports in Kansas co-Most Outstanding Player at the state tournament as a freshman and followed up with a brilliant season that yielded Gatorade Player of the Year honors. The 5-foot-10 Clopton, known for her energy, delivered a 16-1 record, 0.52 ERA with 212 strikeouts and just 15 walks in 101 innings. At the plate, she carried a .357 batting average and a .541 on-base percentage and 30 runs scored. Free State has captured its only two softball crowns in the last two springs.

This year, Free State did not allow a run at the state tournament with a 6-0 victory versus Olathe Northwest, a 1-0 win against Olathe North and a 1-0 victory versus Washburn Rural. As well, Clopton worked a perfect game in a 1-0 win versus Haysville Campus in the regional championship game. Free State did not allow a run in any of its five postseason games. Clopton helped Free State permitted 1.4 runs a contest this year. For the Class of 2021, Clopton is ranked as the No. 11 national recruit by Softball America. Her mother, Sarah (Workman) Clopton, was a former All-Big 12 first team pitcher for Kansas in the ‘90s.

2019 Sports in Kansas 6A Coach of the Year

Lee Ice, Free State, 6A Champs

The Firebirds captured their second straight Class 6A state softball title with a 1-0 win against Washburn Rural. FS went 23-2 and gave Rural its first loss of the season as the Junior Blues finished 23-1. Free State had lost to Rural during the season. Ice, who also earned coach of the year honors in ’18, had a key tactical choice in the seventh inning of the state title. With two out and the tying run in scoring position, ace Tatum Clopton intentionally walked WR standout Kasey Hamilton and then struck out Jenna Moore to win the game. Earlier in the season, Free State pitched to Hamilton – who hit over .600 - and she hit a three-run homer in a 5-2 Rural victory on April 19. As well, Free State third baseman Lauryn Jones made a key play with the bases loaded earlier in the championship contest, and sophomore shortstop Sara Roszak, a first team all-state selection, played well in the field. Roszak batted .447 with five homers and 34 RBI, while first team all-state infielder Georgia Rea hit .500.



2019 Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Softball

First Team - Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

P- Tatum Clopton, Free State

P- Jayme Dean, Olathe North

P- Kasey Hamilton, Washburn Rural

C-Jessica Garcia, Mill Valley

C- Lindy Milkowski, Olathe West

IF- Ashlyn Anderson, Gardner Edgerton

IF- Haleigh Harper, Manhattan

IF- Georgia Rea, Free State

IF- Sara Roszak, Free State

IF- Madi Young, Derby

OF- Courtney Cline, Derby

OF- Jaryn Benning, Topeka

OF- Lauryn Johnson, Campus

OF- Haley Puccio, Mill Valley

OF – Paige Robbins, Blue Valley

Util- Olivia Bruno, Washburn Rural

Util- Caroline Williams, Dodge City

Sports in Kansas Second Team All-State Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

P- Bailey Ballard, Olathe South

P- Breck Dickey, Blue Valley

P- Lauren Florez, Mill Valley

P- Abby Bishop, Blue Valley Northwest

P- Paige Paxton, Derby

C- Bailie Stanley, Campus

C- Jordan Richards, Olathe Northwest

C- Maddie Swamnson, Olathe South

IF- Maya Gallagher, Olathe North

IF- Amber Howe, Derby

IF- Macy Miles, Free State

IF- Gabby Schultz, Gardner Edgerton

IF- Abbey Ward – Olathe South

IF- Rylie Giddens , Blue Valley

OF-Jasmine Brixius – Free State

OF- Logan Hayes, Blue Valley

OF- Elizabeth Vapupel – Olathe East

OF-Morgan Kern, Olathe South

OF- Claire Koetker, Blue Valley Northwest

Util- Ryan MIlkowski, Olathe West

Util- NiJaree Canady, Topeka

Util- Anabelle Daugherty, Olathe South

Sports in Kansas All-State Honorable Mention Order patch by email ASAP: sportsinkansas@gmail.com

Alexis Hill – Wichita East, Maya Hall – Wichita East, Allison Johnson – Wichita North, Grace Johnson – Wichita North, C’Aundra Parker – Wichita South, Sophia Depew – Derby, Delie Stanley – Campus, Riley Lusk – Hutchinson, Lexi Williams – Hutchinson, Aspen Conner – Hutchinson, Gabby Martin – Derby, Mariah Wheeler – Derby, Makayla Chavez – Campus, Alexis Enslinger – Derby, Faith Bannister – Campus, Kaylee Richardson – Free State, Katie Heckman – SM East, Emily Bowman – Olathe Northwest, Jennaka Bultman – SM Northwest, Megan Formwalt – SM Northwest, Angelina Harjo – Lawrence, Lexie Schreoder – Olathe North, Jasmine Brixius, Leksi Macan – SM North, Kailiani Donham – Gardner Edgerton, Morgan Kern – Olathe South, Kayce Hayes – Olathe West, Karisa Boeschen – Olathe Northwest, Chasye Burhart – Lawrence,Maya Gallagher – Olathe North, Katie Enneking – Olathe East, Makenzie Klaus – Olathe Northwest, Abby Monroe – Lawrence, Naleah Garry – Olathe West, Loren Beggs, Olathe Northwest, Paige Oliver – Mill Valley, AJ Elleman – BV West, Marissa Cunningham – Blue Valley, Olivia Shin – BV Northwest, Logan Hays – Blue Valley, Ava Bredwell – Mill Valley, Payton Totzke – Mill Valley, Zoe Caryl – Topeka, Kayden Smith – Washburn Rural, Jenna Moore – Washburn Rural, Roni Raines – Topeka, Alayna Brown – Washburn Rural, Hailey Dart – Garden City, Yazmin Vargas – Garden City, Raemie Lopp – Dodge City, Raegan Lopp – Dodge City, Raegan Nodby – Garden City, Erykah  Foster – Dodge City, Maya Hall – Wichita East, Allison Johnson – Wichita North, Grace Johnson – Wichita North, C’Aundra Parker – Wichita South, Lucy Mwangi – Wichita North, Arianna Roach – Wichita South, Laticia Garcia – Wichita West, Halle Rico – Derby, Delie Stanley – Campus, Riley Lusk – Hutchinson, Lexi Williams – Hutchinson, Aspen Conner – Hutchinson, Tatum Haney – Derby, Brianna Reeves – Derby, Zabree Rodriguez – Dodge City, Millyzient McClure - Liberal, Lacie Lanning - Liberal, Reagan Watt - Liberal, Noehami Gomez - Liberal