v 2018 Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Baseball Team - Sports in Kansas
Warning: include(../includes/bodytag.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/bodytag.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 36

2018 Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Baseball Team

Josh Fiene (BVNW) & Logan Pittman (BV) earned 6A top honors. (photo: Mahmood Khatib)
By: Sports in Kansas - Chet Kuplen
Jun 11, 2018

Share This Story:

Sports in Kansas has released its 2018 All-State Baseball Team. Selections were finalized by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas with input from several media outlets in Kansas. Input was taken from coaches and athletic director nomination forms sent in to Sports in Kansas following the 2018 season, not prior. This is not the Coaches Association Team, this is from Sports in Kansas only. They also have an all-state team voted on by member coaches prior to the state tournaments. 


Sports in Kansas 6A Player of the Year 

Josh Fiene, Blue Valley Northwest Sr. 

Fiene helped Northwest to a 6A runner-up finish in 2018 and was one of the best players in the states top league (EKL). He was named the 2018 EKL Player of the Year in a league loaded with division one talent from just about every team in the league. He hit .423 in the states top league and had 23 RBI as the state runner-up Huskies had their top finish in school history after taking third a year ago. Fiene will play at Johnson County Community College next season 

Sports in Kansas 6A Pitcher of the Year

Logan Pittman, Blue Valley

Pittman was lights out in the Eastern Kansas League and in 6A this season. He went 8-0 on the mound with a 1.8 ERA while striking out 37 in 57 innings pitched. He led the Tigers to back-to-back 6A state titles. Pittman was named the 2018 EKL Pitcher of the Year in a league loaded with top of the line pitching prospects. Pittman will play at Drury next season. 

Sports in Kansas 6A Coach of the Year

Tony Scardino, Blue Valley 

Blue Valley (22-3) captured its second consecutive state title with a 1-0 victory over league rival BV Northwest in Lawrence at Hoglund Ballpark for the 2018 state title back on Memorial Day Weekend. Blue Valley had a 1-0 lead after the first inning and maintained that to win the state tournament. Scardino now has five state titles, three at Blue Valley (2014, 2017, 2018) and two more previous at Bishop Kelley HS in Oklahoma. Even prior to Scardinos arrival the BV program has been quite special. Over the last 11 years Blue Valley baseball has never finished a season under .500 and has made the state tournament 10 of 11 years with a 195-75 (.722%) record with five state titles, a second place finish and third three times. 

Sports in Kansas 6A All-State Baseball

First Team

P- Jon Moll, Olathe South Sr.

P- Scott Duensing, BV Northwest Sr.

P- Max Abramovich, BV Northwest Sr.

P- Logan Pittman, Blue Valley Sr.

P- Jack Zenger, Free State Jr.

P- Thane McDaniel, Junction City Jr.

C- Austin Quick, Free State Sr.

C- Mateo Martinez, Campus Jr.

IF- Josh Fiene, BV Northwest Sr.

IF- Kyle O’Keefe, Blue Valley Sr.

IF- Brady Slavens, Olathe Northwest Jr.

IF – Zach Todd , SM West Sr.

IF- Kyle Sheiver, Olathe Northwest Sr.

OF- Tyler Gates, Wichita Nortwhest Soph.

OF- Jackson Syring, Derby Jr.

OF- Ryan Koval, Olathe South Sr.

OF-Brady Peterson, Blue Valley

OF- Kyle Abrahamson, Free State Sr.

Util- Jackson Hartley, Campus Soph.

DH- Quinton Graham, Free State Sr.

DH- Sean Roseborough, BV Northwest Jr.

Second Team

P- Josh Flack, SM Northwest Sr.

P- Grant Adler, Derby Soph.

P- Mark Adamiak, SM Northwest Jr.

P- Zavier Morin, Gardner Edgerton Sr.

P- Steve Ramos, Wichita West Sr.

C- Walker Kinney, Blue Valley Sr.

C- Clayton Leathers, BV Northwest Sr.

IF- Cole Martins – Campus Sr.

IF-Chris Closser – SM East Sr.

IF- Ashton Weigand, Junction City Sr.

IF- Andrew Stewart – Lawrence Sr.

IF- Brandon Ryan, Olathe South Sr.

IF- Tyler Kahmann, Campus Jr.

IF- Zac Cox, Manhattan Jr.

OF- Ryan Cunningham, Washburn Rural Sr.

OF- Tyler Henry, Gardner Edgerton Sr

OF- Tanner Leslie, Campus Sr.

Util – Jake Baker, Free State Jr.

DH- Noah Steele, SM East Sr.

Honorable Mention

(Order patches ASAP at sportsinkansas@gmail.com)

Brady Walker – Olathe Northwest, Easton Rindt – Junction City, Garret Bridwell – Wichita Northwest, Brett Westerman – Derby, Reid Seacat – Olathe Northwest, Ty Clark – Junction City, Logan Gage – Topeka, Gabriel Lopez – SM South, Colton Pennington – Olathe North, Romin Merrit – Olathe South, Cameron Johns – Olathe South, Coleson Syring – Derby, Hunter Igo – Derby, Diego Escamilla – Wichita North, Jake English – Olathe South, Talon Claussen – Manhattan, Spencer Taylor – Washburn Rural, Payton Smith – Washburn Rural, Casey Steward – Wichita East, Jackson Steward – Wichita East, Treven Veltman – Wichita West, Corey Hahn – Campus, Noah Johnson – Derby, Brayden Paxton – Derby, Brody Smith – Hutchinson, Korey Holmberg – Hutchinson, Jonah Watt- SM East, , Dalton Mall – SM East, Trey McLelland – Olathe South, Holden Missey – BV Northwest, Zavier Morin – Gardner Edgerton, Michael Piccolo- BV North, Brady Walker – SM Northwest, Reece Carmona – Lawrence, David Stuart – Free State, George Specht – SM Northwest, Robet Moore – SM East, Cade Wilson – Olathe East, Joey Olson – Olathe East, Matt Olson – SM West, Dalton Mall – SM East, Garrett Pennington – SM West, Jacob Ramirez – SM Northwest, Ethan Bradford – Free State, Daniel Hammond – SM East, Ian Henricks – Lawrence, Jack Albright – BV North, Drew Howard – Blue Valley, Luke Bernard – Blue Valley, Bradeyn Brewer – Blue Valley, Benjamin DeZube – Blue Valley, Dylan Williams – Blue Valley, Andrew Dennis Blue Valley, Jay Long – Blue Valley, Alex Totta – Blue Valley, Matt Miller – BV Nortwhest, Will Dennis - BV Northwest, Ryan Callahan – BV Northwest, Brennan Masterson – BV North, Spencer Taylor – Washburn Rural, Daniel Hammond - SM East

Warning: include(../includes/module_comments.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_comments.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 115

Warning: include(../includes/module_right-col.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/module_right-col.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php56/usr/lib/php') in /home/kansass/public_html/ks/news/index.php on line 141